Today was so hot even the bike needed a rest

870 km in 9 days. Doesn’t sound too bad does it? That is until you know that the record for the Lands End to John O’Groats, 1407 km, is just over 50 hrs. Now these are the sort of facts you don’t want spinning around your head when you’re trying to feel good about your physical achievements. Having said that I’m surprised I’ve managed 870km in 9 days, so not too bad really.

Today was hot. I never measured the precise quantities but I drank and ate a helluva lot today. With the temperature in the late twenties, early thirties I guess it forces you to consume. It doesn’t admittedly force you to consume the type of food and drink I’m consuming (probably more chocolate and carbonated drinks than is recommended by leading nutritionists) but I’m trying to alter that.

The next few days should be really enjoyable cycles. While I’m along this part of the coast I do want to spend some time relaxing and enjoying the beach so tomorrow I may just cycle 60km or so and spend the afternoon on the beach in Kas.

Looking ahead 2 or 3 days I still don’t know whether to get a ferry to Athens from Bodrum, Marmaris or Fetihye. I’ll figure it out soon no doubt.

Anyway as I said today was so hot even the bike needed a rest.

20130426-224713.jpg

Leave a Reply

