Came up a little short today

Only 78 km today due mainly to the 90 minute tyre cleaning session morning (feels like an excuse). The tyre session was necessary but it has meant I have pulled up short of my original target Fethiye. At the time I was disappointed but nonetheless decided to get a taxi from Kemer (rather than Fethiye) to Marmaris in order to arrive in time before the shops shut. Fortunately I arrived in time to buy a ferry ticket to Rhodes leaving at 9am tomorrow. Once there I’ll get the first available ferry to Athens.

And with that my cycling in Turkey is over. In the end I only cycled 1020km in Turkey, 400km shorter than originally planned because I started in Gaziantep rather than Diyarbakir. But ultimately this whole bike ride will be about 4300km so still plenty of work left to do.

I can’t thank you all enough for your support. It’s made the whole trip so much fun and I’m really excited for the next stage from Athens to Split.

The lady below kindly released a dove in Marmaris to symbolise my departure from Turkey to Greece. Very thoughtful if not a little cliche.

20130429-230004.jpg

2 thoughts on “Came up a little short today

  1. Huge WELL DONE for your peddling so far and thanks for putting a smile on my face everyday with your fab updates. Looking forward to Crazydancingbear does Greece. Mx

Leave a Reply

