Great St Bernard Pass

So after 10 minutes of google maps I have decided to cross the Alps via the Grand St Bernard pass at 2469m (I’m currently at 150m elevation). My mate Toby says this is the iconic cycling route so I guess I’ve no choice.

I’m quite excited about the whole thing really and providing the weather is favourable (50/50 at the moment) it should be hard work but awesome. Not only is this where Napoleon crossed with 40000 troops in 1800, it is also where the hospice sits that trained the now famous St Bernard rescue dogs, so if anything does go wrong I’m in good hands. Apparently they still welcome all travellers so perhaps we will find out if that includes dancing bears.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_St_Bernard_Pass

This is what I hope the weather is like when I cross.

20130525-123725.jpg

Leave a Reply

