Let’s get back to the tennis

I had about three lunches in Paris on Monday. But my favourite was in a restaurant on the Champs Élysées where I met two really lovely American ladies who were over for the French tennis open at Roland Garros. One was the former world no 22, a lady called Elise Burgin, while the other was a local news anchor in Harrisburg for ABC, Alicia Richards. They were asking all about my cycle which was lovely but as ever I started to feel decidedly uncomfortable when explaining that everyday I did a dance because people call me dancing bear. I couldn’t help but imagine that they were probably looking at me thinking ‘who is this 40 yr old British freak we’ve found ourselves sitting next to in Paris? Let’s get back to the tennis.’

Leave a Reply

